

## **Unit 1 Contract Education Workers**

Department of Political Science 9th February 2021

Dear Prof. Vipond,

As you likely already know, Unit 1 Contract Academic workers (namely Teaching Assistants, Course Instructors, and Invigilators) are currently bargaining for a new Collective Agreement. The contract education workers of the Department of Political Science support our Unit 1 bargaining team, and need a fairer Collective Agreement more than ever before. As such, we formally request that department leadership acknowledge the receipt of and endorse the following statement:

The Department of Political Science acknowledges that Unit 1 of CUPE 3902 (Teaching Assistants, Course Instructors, and Invigilators) is currently bargaining with the University of Toronto (U of T). CUPE 3902's main priorities for this round of bargaining are to improve workload standards, foster inclusion and anti-oppression at U of T, increase compensation and job security, and promote (mental) health and safety. As Faculty of the Department of Political Science, we support our graduate students from C.U.P.E. 3902 in their efforts to demand a fair, safe, and just workplace at U of T. Specifically, the Department pledges to 1) reject any policies of academic continuity passed by University administration, 2) not hire any contract labour to replace striking workers and 3) refuse to compel any students to perform educational labour independent of labour decisions made by the Union with financial compensation from budgetary lines that were not already dedicated to wages, or by use of threats to academic completion. By taking this stance, the Department acknowledges the importance of unionized student labour to its teaching operations and upholds Unit 1's right to a good faith bargaining climate. The Department wishes its Unit 1 employees an equitable bargaining round regardless of potential labour disruptions and will contribute to fostering a supportive environment.

The contract education workers of the Department of Political Science greatly appreciate the support that the Chair and departmental faculty have given to graduate students formally and informally in the past. We believe that they can lead by example again in advocating for an equitable university.

Best wishes,

The undersigned Departmental CUPE members, the Departmental CUPE Steward team, and GASPS Executive.

Abdus Shuman
Matthew Palynchuk
Christian Elliott
Jasmine Chorley Foster
Jiajia Zhou
Stefan Macleod
Peter Sekyere
Yang-Yang Cheng

Devin Ouellette

Dafe Oputu

Aden Dur-e-Aden

Meghan Snider

**Geoffrey Martin** 

Jacob Winter

Charlie Bain

Salam Alsaadi

Omar Garcia

**Daniel Hutton Ferris** 

Selin Kepenek

Emma Gill-Alderson

Kelsey Marie Gordon

Graeme Stewart-Wilson

William Roelofs

Semuhi Sinanoglu

Jose Martini Costa

Anna Johnson

Siru Chen